In Review: Still Waiting by Sadie and the Hotheads


Earlier this month, Sadie and the Hotheads released their eagerly anticipated third album. 'Still Waiting' marks the start of a 27 date national tour, and an exciting new chapter for the band.

The first single from the album called 'Everybody's Got A Song' is upbeat and makes you feel immediately cheery, and the distinctive fusion of blues, folk, big band, country and jazz is apparent throughout the thirteen track album.

Highlights on the album include All My Sins, I'm Doing Fine, Wild Horses and Mother Mary. Indeed, Mother Mary has a special story as it is written by the band for one of their most dedicated of fans.

The band broke with the 'normal' method of releasing music for their new album, with funding obtained through PledgeMusic, a model that allows fans and supporters alike to pledge money to help get the music released. The model has also allowed the band to maintain complete artistic control.

The band is already on its tour across the UK, and will be in Chatham tonight, and Bolton, Wirral and Warrington the rest of the week. For a full tour schedule and to see if tickets are still available click here.

The band, fronted by Elizabeth McGovern has received great acclaim, with critics describing McGovern as "holding the centre stage with a warm, mischievous smile." The Hotheads consist of veteran musicians including Simon Nelson (electric and acoustic guitar, dobro,) Steve Nelson (acoustic guitar, bouzouki, banjo,) Terl Bryant (drums, percussion,) Ron Knights (bass,) Nick Lacey (piano, keyboards, penny whistle,) and Danica Chapman (backing vocals.)

Check out the band's website here and purchase the album!

Post a Comment
One Beat Designs Mlekoshi playground